Gov. Branstad issues Disaster Proclamation for 6 Counties along the MO. River


June 2nd, 2011 by Ric Hanson

(DES MOINES) – Governor Terry E. Branstad has issued a disaster emergency proclamation for six counties bordering the Missouri River: Fremont, Harrison, Mills, Monona, Pottawattamie and Woodbury.

The Governor’s proclamation allows state resources to be utilized to prepare for, respond to and recover from the effects of predicted flooding due to increased releases from reservoirs on the upper Missouri River.

The Iowa Department of Transportation will provide dump trucks to Woodbury County to assist in building an earthen berm along the river to hold back flood waters.

The Iowa Department of Natural Resources closed all state run boat ramps on the Missouri River Thursday morning and is requesting that the U.S. Coast Guard suspend recreational boating on the river due to dangerous river flows and flooding conditions.