KJAN Sports

Listen Monday – Saturday for KJAN Sports at 7:18 am, 8:15 am, 12:20 pm, 1:20 pm, 2:20 pm and 5:20 pm!

Catch St. Louis Cardinal Baseball on KJAN — Check out the schedule!

Listen to the Kansas City Chiefs on KJAN — See the schedule!

Iowa Hawkeye Football & Basketball is on KJAN — View More Information!


KJAN Sports Schedule/Audio Archive

Want to watch some of your favorite games again?  Check out our video archives HERE!

Iowa shuts out top-seeded Nebraska 2-0 at Big Ten tourney


May 26th, 2017 by Ric Hanson

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. (AP) — Ryan Erickson pitched 7 2/3 scoreless innings and Iowa beat top-seeded Nebraska 2-0 Friday in the quarterfinals of the Big Ten baseball tournament.

Erickson (3-3) struck out six in holding back the top-seeded Cornhuskers (35-19-1), who had scored 36 runs in their previous two games. Nebraska loaded the bases with two outs in the eighth and ninth innings but instead got shut out for just the second time this season.

Chris Whelan hit a solo homer and Jake Adams had an RBI single, providing Iowa (36-19) with all the offense it would need. Nebraska finished with 12 hits — but just one came with a runner in scoring position.

Atlantic boys golf sits fifth after round 1 at 3A State Tournament


May 26th, 2017 by Chris Parks

The Atlantic boys golf team sits in fifth place in the Class 3A State Tournament after day 1 of play at Spring Valley Golf Course in Livermore. The Trojans shot a 319 team total and they trail the leader Central DeWitt by 11 strokes.

Round 1 Team Scores

  1. Central DeWitt 308
  2. Williamsburg 312
  3. MOC-Floyd Valley 313
  4. Webster City 317
  5. Atlantic 319
  6. Mount Pleasant 324
  7. ADM 333
  8. Norwalk 339
  9. Benton Community 345

Atlantic individual scores: Ben Renaud, 77, tied for 9th. Nate Gifford, 80. Jake Olsen, 80. Zac Stork, 82. Matt Gearheart, 83. Cyle Renaud, 85.

Atlantic boy tennis doubles team wins opening state match


May 26th, 2017 by Chris Parks

The Atlantic boys tennis doubles team of Grant Podhajsky and Cooper McDermott picked up an opening match win at the State Tournament on Friday.  The duo beat Fairfield’s Gannon Courtright and Navin Martin 6-2, 6-0.  That puts them into the second round against LeMars’ Kyle Marek and Jake Thompson on Friday.

(Podcast) KJAN Morning Sports report, 5/26/2017

Podcasts, Sports

May 26th, 2017 by Ric Hanson

The 7:20-a.m. Sportscast w/Chris Parks.


High School Baseball/Softball Scoreboard 5/25/2017


May 26th, 2017 by Chris Parks


Red Oak 2, Atlantic 1
ADM, Adel 7, Interstate 35, Truro 2
Audubon 4, AHSTW, Avoca 1
CAM, Anita 4, Woodbine 2
Council Bluffs, Abraham Lincoln 12, Council Bluffs, Thomas Jefferson 2
Council Bluffs, Abraham Lincoln 7, Council Bluffs, Thomas Jefferson 3
Creston 13, Nodaway Valley 5
Denison-Schleswig 15, Shenandoah 0 (Final 4 innings)
EHK-Exira 12, Boyer Valley, Dunlap 0
Fremont-Mills, Tabor 6, Sidney 5
Harlan 6, Sioux City, North 5
Madrid 3, Panorama, Panora 2 (8 innings)
Maple Valley-Anthon-Oto 3, West Monona, Onawa 0
OA-BCIG 13, Ridge View 4
Treynor 8, Missouri Valley 1
Tri-Center 9, IKM-Manning 1
West Central Valley, Stuart 5, Des Moines Christian 4
Woodward-Granger 12, ACGC 1 (6 innings)


Atlantic 10, Red Oak 1
Atlantic 11, Red Oak 6
A-D-M, Adel 5, Clarke, Osceola 3
AHSTW 19, Audubon 3
CAM, Anita 12, Woodbine 0
Charter Oak-Ute 13, AR-WE-VA, Westside 3
Glenwood 19, St. Albert 5
Glenwood 16, St. Albert 0

Glidden-Ralston 17, West Harrison 7
IKM-Manning 11, Tri-Center, Neola 0
Kuemper Catholic, Carroll 13, Clarinda 3
Kuemper Catholic, Carroll 5, Clarinda 1
Mount Ayr 10, East Union 2

Nodaway Valley 2, Lenox 1
Ridge View 5, OA-BCIG 2
Sidney 7, Fremont-Mills 1
Treynor 6, Missouri Valley 4
Underwood 7, Griswold 4

Girls soccer regional scoreboard 5/25/2017


May 26th, 2017 by Chris Parks

Some first round regional girls soccer games were played on Thursday.

Class 2A Region 1

Sergeant Bluff-Luton 3, Glenwood 1
Council Bluffs Abraham Lincoln 7, Sioux City West 0

Class 2A Region 3

Denison-Schleswig 3, Atlantic 1
Nodaway Valley/WCV/ACGC 2, Carroll 1

The next round of games in all classes will be played on Tuesday, May 30th.

Iowa tight end threatened with gun in hometown of Omaha


May 26th, 2017 by Ric Hanson

OMAHA, Neb. (AP) — Police say a 23-year-old man has been arrested on suspicion of pulling a gun on Iowa tight end Noah Fant. Fant, a graduate of Omaha South High School, told police he was threatened Tuesday night while he was in a northwest Omaha park near his home. Fant says a man he recognized came up to his car window, pointed a gun at him and told him to leave.

Police say they saw Matthew Trimble run into a garage and that he later admitted to confronting Fant. Trimble has been charged with making terroristic threats.

Fant played in six games last season as a freshman for the Hawkeyes, making nine catches for 70 yards and one touchdown.


Maeda rallies Dodgers to 7-3 win over Cardinals


May 26th, 2017 by Ric Hanson

LOS ANGELES (AP) — Kenta Maeda fell into a 3-0 hole in the first inning of his first start for the Dodgers in two weeks coming off the disabled list. Then, the Japanese right-hander rallied Los Angeles to a 7-3 victory over the St. Louis Cardinals on Thursday night in the series finale.

Maeda (4-2) drove in the tying and go-ahead runs with a two-out single in the fourth off Michael Wacha and turned an inning-ending double play in the fifth to help the Dodgers take two of three from the Cardinals.

Maeda allowed three runs and seven hits in five innings, struck out four and walked two. He missed 13 games with a tight left hamstring while on the DL since May 11. Maeda got off to a rocky start in his return, giving up Jedd Gyorko’s two-run double and Yadier Molina’s RBI single in the first. The Dodgers took over from there.

Audit: Iowa athletics IT director submitted false invoices

News, Sports

May 25th, 2017 by Ric Hanson

IOWA CITY, Iowa (AP) — A state audit is detailing misspending and potential fraud by the former information technology director of the University of Iowa athletics department. State auditors reported Thursday that Patrick Delin made personal purchases using a university credit card, then “intentionally submitted” false invoices that showed legitimate work items had been purchased.

They say Delin spent thousands traveling to a conference in Colorado that wasn’t related to his work and registering for a Miami conference he didn’t attend. He also gave his wife, a department employee, a university cell phone even though she didn’t need one. The Associated Press first reported this month that Delin resigned in February amid the investigation. A separate internal audit found other weaknesses in the athletic department’s handling of IT equipment.

Iowa gets past Maryland 9-8 in Big Ten tourney


May 25th, 2017 by Ric Hanson

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. (AP) — Matt Hoeg hit a sacrifice fly in the top of the ninth inning and Iowa beat Maryland 9-8 on Thursday in their Big Ten Tournament baseball opener. Iowa (35-19) was ahead 6-1 before Maryland scored six in a row to take the lead. Solo home runs by Robert Neustrom and Chris Whelan put Iowa up 8-7 in the top of the sixth.

Maryland’s Marty Costes then tied it on a homer, but the Terrapins (34-20) left the bases loaded in the bottom of the eighth. Josh Martsching (4-0) got the win for Iowa, which will face Nebraska in the winner’s bracket on Friday.

The Hawkeyes and Terrapins were forced to play Thursday instead of Wednesday because of a rule stating that games can’t start after 10 p.m. EDT.